A Ghostly Wine Fit For Halloween

During my very brief trip up to San Francisco and Napa last week, I had the chance to stop in at Flora Springs Winery and sample some of their wines. I sampled their Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Merlot, and Cabernet Sauvignon; all fantastic. I also sampled some of their 2008 Ghost Winery Cabernet Franc. I absolutely loved it and so did my friend who was with me. I ended up purchasing a bottle so that I could enjoy it when I returned home.

The wine is 100% Cabernet Franc and gets its whimsical name as a tribute to Flora Spring’s old stone winery, that is considered one of Napa Valley’s famous “Ghost Wineries” that were abandoned during the prohibition era.  It is released every year in time for Halloween. The label of the bottle is very colorful and whimsical with three ghosts playing an accordion, banjo, and violin along Napa’s famous Route 29. So naturally, you can see why this wine was perfect for Halloween, which is precisely when I enjoyed it.

In the glass the wine has a deep garnet color. On the nose there is an abundant cherry scent with hints of cocoa, vanilla, and tobacco as well as flavors of cherry, vanilla, and cocoa on the palate. The finish is bold and elegant. The wine paired well with the Margherita pizza I made.

This wine sells for $40 a bottle and I definitely recommend purchasing it when it becomes available. It is definitely a solid wine for the price. I also recommend stopping into their tasting room if you find yourself in Napa. Their staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable and will definitely make you feel right at home. I definitely am looking forward to going back on my next visit.

~Monica

 

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment