Happy New Year From Fab OC Wine Chick!

Happy 2014 everyone! I cannot believe another year is gone. 2013 was a wonderful year for me filled with wine, travel, and friends.

Happy 2014!

Happy 2014!

I know that this blog has been kind of quiet for a few weeks but I assure you, I am still here busy working, tasting fabulous wines, and continuing my studies with the Wine & Spirit Education Trust. I am busy working on Level 3 and will travel to London at the end of March for a workshop and then for the exam itself. Then, it’s on to Diploma which will be spanned out over two years with more travel back to London for the various exams and units. I decided on doing Level 3 and Diploma online with the travel abroad for the exams because it fits my crazy work schedule better and the travel will hopefully help me retain my elite status with my airline and hotel programs. Plus, London has always been one of my favourite cities in the world and it’s like home to me.

What else in 2014 you ask? My year will be filled with lots of studying, natch and I do have a fair mount of travel booked and planned. My goal in 2014 is to get into the wine industry in some capacity and move where the job takes me. Hopefully my backgrounds in marketing, business development, social media, and hospitality along with my WSET certifications and connections in the industry will make that possible. Stay tuned. I plan to taste many more great wines in 2014 and continue to blog. Fabocwinechick.com has already been purchased so I will migrate this blog over soon. Last year had a lot of challenges with me health-wise and recovering from surgery but I am much healthier and plan to rock 2014!

My wish for you all is to have an absolutely amazing 2014 filled with happiness, health, prosperity, and of course great wine. I treasure all the friends that I have made in the past few years in the wine industry and wine blogging communities and I am excited to meet many more of you at the 2014 Wine Bloggers Conference in Santa Barbara and in my travels. Raising a glass to all of you and wishing you a wonderful year ahead!

Cheers!

~Monica

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year From Fab OC Wine Chick!

  1. juliecrombe says:

    Happy 2014! So cool that there is actually a wine bloggers community! I’m going to run a half marathon in Santa Barbara in May and hope to taste some of the wine there too! Any recommendations? Happy 2014!!

    • Happy 2014! The wine blogging community has grown by leaps and bounds in the last few years and is made up of many talented bloggers. Santa Barbara is growing into a significant, recognized wine region and does very well with Rhone style wines. Some of the wineries I would recommend are the smaller producers like Tercero, Saarloos & Sons, Andrew Murray, Brewer-Clifton, and Dragonette Cellars. I would also try and see if you can arrange a tasting of Angela Osborne’s Grenache. Her website is http://www.gracewinecompany.com and she makes some of the best Grenache I have tasted but very small quantities that always sell out. Hope you find these recommendations useful. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

