Hello world!

Why hello there! Thank you for stopping by my little corner of the cyber world. I hope you make yourself at home.  Please pull up a chair and allow me pour you a glass of my favorite wine.

Let me tell you a bit about myself and why this blog is here. My name is Monica. I come from a little ole’ place called Orange County which I affectionately like to call “The OC.”.  I have an undeniable passion (more like love affair) for great wine. I was lucky to grow up in a family who also shares the love of the juice and always makes it a big part of every celebration and family gathering. I am also a foodie at heart and enjoy cooking and creating things in the kitchen. I am also lucky to have an amazing uncle who is a talented executive chef who allows me to cook with him and learn some stuff along the way. I love to create a great meal centered on a superb wine. I am also an avid world traveler; ok more like a wander luster. In my travels, I do enjoy learning and tasting the wines of the local region that I am visiting. I have an affinity for Spanish wine. I visit Spain often; namely Barcelona and the surrounding towns in search of great Spanish wine and tapas.  Next on my list is to visit Australia and New Zealand to sample some of the amazing wines the regions there have to offer. I hope to do that within a year’s time.

I love wine and the Twitter wine community so much that I decided to start my second Twitter account FabOCGirl as a tribute to my great love and also to connect on a more personal level with the people I have grown to respect and admire within the Twitter wine community. My main account is OC_Monica. There I also have a dedicated wine list but mostly tweet about more professional things pertaining to social media, digital marketing, and public relations. In my opinion the wine community is truly amazing and inspiring. I have never seen a group of professionals that so openly friends people and welcomes them into their community to discuss their passion without any pretentiousness. They truly reach out and help eachother whether it is with wine recommendations, help with job searches in the wine industry, down to accommodations when fellow wine friends come to visit. It is unlike any of the other special interest communities on Twitter where it’s mostly a contest to see who has the most influence or clout or who can mass follow the most people.

I have met some amazing people along my three year journey on Twitter which only gets better and better. As you might have guessed, I also have a love for social media and connecting with people. One of my dear “in real life” friends is a well-known talented and respected blogger among the wine community and has inspired me to continue my knowledge and passion of wine and to actually write about it! I am already a blogger in marketing and social media topics but this blog will be a first for me and I am very much looking forward to writing it.  Another dream is to one day get a formal certification in wine such a sommelier certification simply to expand my knowledge and passion for wine. My friend and I have had amazing discussions about the industry and wine in general over some really great wine. Wine should be about great friends and great times; something that I truly believe goes hand-in-hand. If you are not already following my friend Beau, I invite you to and to read his blog for some truly entertaining, informative, and light-hearted reading. Follow him on Twitter here and his blog can be found here: Beau’s Barrel Room. Some of the blogs of my other friends can be found on my blogroll. I have learned a great deal from each of them and am proud to feature their writing on my blogroll for others to enjoy and learn from.

This blog is meant to be a very open discussion into my journey of good wine and food. I have much to learn about wine and am eager to soak up all the information that I can from all of you. I intend on posting as many wine reviews as possible along with anything I find informative or humorous along the way. I will also post about my travels and the wine I am lucky enough to sample along the way. As anyone who knows me personally can tell you, I am quite sassy and humorous in person and I hope that I bring a little bit of that spice and attitude to my writing and blog in general.

I cannot tell you how happy I am to now be a part of this amazing wine community. Please feel free to connect with me, keep in touch, and share any advice or feedback with me. I would also love to connect on Facebook with fellow members of the wine community. If you would like to do so, message me privately and I am happy to give you my Facebook URL.  I look forward to having you be a part of my journey into wine, food, travel, and life. Cheers and salute!

~ Monica

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Julie Lim says:

    Congratulations on your fabulous wine blog!! I just LOVE what you have done so far. I too love to travel, eat good food, & drink fine wine. Looks like we have a lot in common already. Hope to meet you in person one day! In the meantime, I will be following your new blog closely….

  2. Thank you Julie! I am excited to write it. You can bet I will stop in to meet you soon! 🙂

  3. Welcome to the blogesphere, I look forward to reading and learning about what wine inspires you. Good luck on this journey!!

  4. kandice says:

    Looking forward to seeing some of these trips to Spain! Would also love to hear a few of your favorite wine picks – maybe a Top 10 List? 🙂

  5. Tamara- Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

    Kandice-I have not been able to make Spain this year unfortunately but it’s in the works for next year. I fully intend on blogging about it and even posting pics as well as talk about the wine I sample. As you have already read, Spanish wine is a great love of mine so wine tasting in Spain is always a top priority for me when I travel there. A Top 10 list is a fabulous idea and will definitely work on that for the future. I appreciate your comments and kind words! 🙂

Leave a Reply

