Kramer Vineyards Sparkling Müller-Thurgau…pure fun in a glass!

Do you know what a Müller-Thurgau is? Or…even a sparkling Müller-Thurgau? I sure as hell had no idea until recently. Being the wine geek that I am, I am always up for trying something new and learning about it. For anyone who knows me well enough should know how much I adore my bubbles.  My bestie and fellow wine geek, Beau had raved a while back about Kramer Vineyards Sparkling Müller-Thurgau and everytime Beau loves something that much, I am intrigued and I know it will be wonderful! I was excited that on my last trip down to San Diego to visit him, he had brought me back a bottle to try from his recent trip to Portland. Thanks B!

Before we get to the fun stuff, let’s talk a bit about the grape itself and the history behind it. Müller-Thurgau is a variety of a white grape with its origin in Thurgau, Switzerland. This grape is a crossing of Riesling and Madeleine Royale. What makes this grape so appealing is its capability of being grown in a wide range of climates and soil types. It is Germany’s most planted Grape and is used to make wine in various countries such as Germany, Austria, Italy, Hungary, and the United States, among others. Though not widely planted in the United States, it has a thriving home in Gaston, Oregon at Kramer Vineyards. Kramer Vineyards typically produces 2-3 batches per vintage with 65 cases being produced for each batch.


Now on to the fun stuff! I love the label on the bottle. It caught my eye immediately. It says celebrate and that’s what many of us associate drinking bubbles with. On the nose, this sparkling wine has lovely aromas of honeysuckle and orange blossom as well as flowers. Flavors of fresh apple and pears will dance across your palate, along with honeysuckle and a little hint of citrus. The finish is long and makes you anxious to take the next sip. This sparkler has a bit of residual sugar to round it out. It is bursting with fresh fruit flavors on the nose and palate and so much fun to drink. It is so light, crisp, and refreshing which makes for an absolutely perfect summertime sparkling wine.

Bubbles always have a tendency to make me happy and put a smile on my face. In my world, bubbles make everything better! This sparkling wine was no exception. It is fun in a glass. I can already tell you that this is going to be an everyday favorite that I will want to have on hand regularly so you can bet that I will be purchasing several bottles to have on hand. If you love bubbles that are light, crisp, fun, refreshing and fruity, then you must try Kramer Vineyards Sparkling Müller-Thurgau. FabOCWineChick HIGHLY recommends this for your sipping pleasure. It’s fabulous fun in a bottle. At only $15 per bottle, how can you not give it a try?

To order Kramer Vineyards Sparkling Müller-Thurgau or any of their other wines, please visit their website here.

Cheers!

~Monica

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

