What I am looking forward to accomplishing in 2012

The holidays have come and gone yet again with the last of the decorations being stored away. The last of the holiday cookies and fudge have been consumed and then it came time to toast the new year. We all lifted our champagne glasses in a toast to welcome all the wonderful things in store for us in 2012. This is also the time when many of us make our resolutions in anticipation of a brand new year, or for many, a brand new beginning. Many of us make the traditional resolutions to lose weight, make more money, advance in our careers, find love, fame, and so fourth. Yes, like most people, I made some personal resolutions. I had also thought about making my “wine resolutions” for the new year…basically what I want to accomplish in 2012, wine-wise. One of my good friends had suggested that I do that and because he was one of my inspirations for starting this blog in the first place, I figured it was a wonderful idea.

In 2011, I tasted many great wines as well as not so great wines, did some travel, met some wonderful new people in the social media wine community, and had a lot of fun, as I usually do! I did get some blogging done but not as much as I had liked. There is so much I want to do, learn, and accomplish this new year. For those who know me well, as well as those who I may not know as well yet, I hope you can keep me accountable for some of these. Without further ado, I give to you what I want to accomplish in 2012, wine-wise:

1) Become a better writer: I’m not saying I’m a horrible writer but there is always room for improvement. As someone once said, in order to become a better writer, you just have to write, and write often. Practice makes perfect. I used to be an excellent writer in my high school and college days and loved doing it. I need to get back to that mode.

2) Write more blog posts: This ties into #1. I’m very lucky to be able to drink so many great wines and not so great (unlucky maybe?) wines. I should be writing more about those wines. I also want to write more about the experiences each particular wine gives as well as any emotions associated with it in addition to reviews and tasting notes. I would also like to do some writing on other wine-related topics. I will have to give that some more thought as to the specific topics I want to explore. I am always open to ideas.

3) More wine-related travel: I have had the opportunity to visit some wine regions in depth such as Napa and various Spanish wine regions. I have plans on re-visiting these places as well as visit new wine regions and learn about the wines they produce. I do have some domestic travel already booked this year however I am aiming to visit France and Spain as well later on in the year. As many of you know I have an affinity for French and Spanish wines (my Spanish side of the family is to blame for that!). I would love to spend some time exploring various French wine-producing regions such as Burgundy, Bordeaux, as well as others. I am very familiar with some Spanish wine regions but there are many more I would like to explore as well. I am also interested in heading to Australia and New Zealand to sample the amazing wines there and learn about the wine-producing regions there as well as the culture. All of these experiences would be happily documented on my blog, through social media, and pictures of course!

4) Buy More Wine: Yes you read that right! One of the best ways to find great new wines is to taste many new wines. I am never afraid to step out of my comfort zone but I admit, I do not do it often enough. Doing so helps one discover great new wines and expand the palate. In addition, it gives you more opportunities to write even more great blog posts to share the experiences with others.

5) Further my own education: The world of wine is a never ending plethora of learning and information and can be very overwhelming. I want to learn as much as I can through research, books, classes and certifications, hands on learning, learning from those with much more experience…basically learning anyway possible.

There you have it…what I am looking to accomplish wine-wise in 2012. Sounds like a lot but I want to push myself to be a better writer and continue my learning. I am always open to suggestions, advice, help, constructive criticism, and whatever it takes to push myself to be better. I am hoping you all can help keep me accountable for at least the writing part. I am so lucky to have such amazing friends that I have learned from and shared many great bottles of wine with in the past. I look forward to more good times with them this year as well as learning more from them. I am also excited to meet those of you who I have not had the pleasure of meeting yet. I look forward to learning from you all and sharing great wine with you.

Raising my glass to a fabulous 2012 filled with growth, learning, friends, travel, and of course an abundance of great wine!

Salud!

~Monica

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I am looking forward to accomplishing in 2012

  1. I for one will be keeping my fingers crossed that you can accomplish these goals Monica! 🙂

  2. Sounds like some solid aspects for any blogger to consider. Best luck to you and accomplishing your goals this year Monica!

Leave a Reply

