I drank Merlot and I liked it…Mollydooker 2010 The Scooter Merlot

Anyone that knows me well knows that Merlot is a wine varietal that I don’t care for too much. I admit, I haven’t allowed myself to have a lot of experience with it because of all the bad and mediocre experiences that I’ve had with it in the past. Don’t get me wrong, I do love red blends, Bordeauxs especially, that contain Merlot however on it’s own, it’s just never excited me that much however this is starting to change.

The time had come to taste another Mollydooker wine from their Lefty Wine collection. You all may remember that I’ve tasted some Cabernet, a red blend, and a Verdelho from the collection recently. They also have a Merlot in that collection called The Scooter. With some apprehehnsion, I pulled the bottle out of the cellar in preparation to taste it.

Mollydooker 2010 The Scooter Merlot

Mollydooker’s 2010 The Scooter Merlot is 100% Merlot. It gets its name from Sparky’s scooter-racing days. In the glass it pours a dark garnet color and reveals long legs upon swirling the wine in the glass. The wine has fragrant aromatics of plums, cherries, blueberries, and boysenberries which make me think of Christmas automatically. On the palate, you get flavors of boysenberries, blueberries, and dark cherries. There are slight vanilla notes present and you get a touch of cocoa powder on a long finish. This wine is silky smooth and has a soft tannic structure. It’s rich yet very easy and pleasant to drink. I was pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable a Merlot could be. This wine would be a good compliment to hearty beef, pork, or lamb dishes or pair it with chocolate like I did for a fun, decadent pairing. As with all of Mollydooker red wines, you will want to do the Mollydooker Shake prior to enjoying the wine.

If you are already a Merlot-lover or a wine lover, like myself who is learning to love Merlot, I definitely recommend trying Mollydooker’s 2010 The Scooter. This wine retails for $25 from the Mollydooker website. An Internet search showed the wine selling from anywhere from $21-26 throughout various sites on the web.

As a wise friend told me once, I shouldn’t discount a type of wine completely just because I’ve had a few bad experiences with it, rather I should taste more so that I can discover how good Merlot can be. That is also my advise to anyone else who discounts a particular wine variety based on a few bad or unexciting experiences with it. After taking the time to explore what’s out there, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Up next, the last wine in the Mollydooker Lefty Wines series. Until the next time friends.

Salud!

~Monica

*This wine was provided as a media sample for review purposes.

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I drank Merlot and I liked it…Mollydooker 2010 The Scooter Merlot

  1. Monica,
    thanks heaps for the review. it always excites Sarah and I to have our friends drink and post about Mollydooker Wines. We are in the last days of Summer here in Australia and today was 100F. we have just finished harvest of the 2012 grapes (3 hrs ago) and the juice look and taste awesome. We look forward to catching up soon and sharing some more Mollydooker together.
    Regards Sparky

Leave a Reply

