Anam Cara 2007 Pinot Noir Nicholas Estate

I can’t believe that it’s already been two months since my adventure in Portland and the Willamette Valley. For those of you who missed the recap, have no fear, you can find it here. As you may have recalled, we visited several outstanding wineries. I started getting in touch with wineries early on and putting the word out that I was visiting the Willamette Valley and wanted to stop in and visit as many wineries as I can. One of the people who followed me on Twitter and reached out to me right away was Sheila Nicholas who is the winemaker and owner of Anam Cara Cellars.

Anam Cara is the Celtic term for “friend of my soul” which Sheila was explaining to us as she was pouring her lovely wines. Anam Cara Cellars has their tasting room located in Newberg, while their vineyards are located in the town of Sherwood. The winery specializes in Oregon’s flagship varietal Pinot Noir and a wonderful Gewürztraminer. This blog post will focus on Anam Cara’s 2007 Nicholas Estate Pinot Noir. There has been much discussion on Twitter among friends and fellow wine bloggers on which vintages of Oregon Pinot Noir are ready to drink and which vintages can stand a few more years to really shine. The general consensus is that the 2007 vintage is ready to drink and drinking very well at the present time.

Anam Cara Cellars 2007 Pinot Noir Nicholas Estate

Anam Cara Cellars 2007 Nicholas Estate Pinot Noir pours a light ruby color in the glass. In the nose, you get lovely aromatics of fresh rose petals, plum, cloves, and spice. On the palate, there is an abundance of red fruits such as cherry, pomegranate, and plums along with a zippy tartness. The wine has bright, lively acidity and a hint of spiciness on a fairly quick finish. This is a much lighter bodied Pinot Noir and a bit different from the typical Oregon Pinot Noirs that I am used to that have the earthy and mushroom Burgundian elements to them. This lighter bodied Pinot would be a great choice for summer. I can definitely see myself sitting in the backyard sipping this wine on a warm summer evening. You might want to serve this wine with a slight chill to it. About ten minutes in the refrigerator would do it.

I brought home a couple of Anam Cara’s later vintage Pinot Noirs that I am looking forward to trying in the future. If you are ever in the Willamette Valley, in the Newberg area, you must make it a point to stop in at the Anam Cara tasting room. Sheila will greet you with gracious hospitality and you will have the opportunity to taste some of Oregon’s wonderful Pinots, as well as their delicious Gewürztraminer, which I also brought home. The 2007 Nicholas Estate Pinot Noir sells for $30 per bottle and can be purchased directly off their website.

A very heartfelt thank you to Sheila Nicholas for having us and for also sharing this wine with me. I look forward to visiting again on my next trip to the Willamette Valley. Anam Cara Cellars can be found on Facebook and you can follow Sheila on Twitter.

Until the next time friends…

Cheers!

~Monica

*This wine was generously provided as a media sample for review purposes.

About fabocwinechick

Wine lover and wine blogger and foodie. Passionate about good food and wine, travel, and living life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anam Cara 2007 Pinot Noir Nicholas Estate

  1. winesleuth says:

    Do you know if they are going to be showing at the WBC in Portland this summer? I’m very interested to try older American pinot noir.

    • I don’t know for sure. I will tweet her and ask her. I don’t see them listed on the WBC website but that doesn’t mean they won’t be participating in some capacity. They could also turn out to be one of the wineries we will visit.

      • Hello! We are pouring at the Oregon Wine Board’s pre-conference tasting and I’ll bring a bottle of the 2007 for “under the table” since by August it will be just a lovely memory

  2. I am happy to hear that Sheila! I will also be getting to Portland Monday that week so I have 2 days with friends in the Willamette Valley prior to the pre-conference excursions, so I will definitely stop in! 🙂

  3. Thank you Monica for your intuitive comments on the 2007 Pinot Noir. It was a vintage that was prematurely panned by some in the media to the extent that consumers would simply refuse to sample it in the tasting room. True, it was a challenging harvest, but an elevated site and conscientious viticultural throughout the year paid major dividends. The resulting wines are lower in alcohols, higher in acids and perfect for aging… which is why they shine today.
    Exciting that we’ll see you again in August! It will be nice to show you Oregon in the glorious days of our summer. I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

